put away the sackcloth and ashes

Well – I feel a bit like King David when he was told his son had died…remember that story?
 
His son was very sick and David trusted God to intervene – he put on sackcloth and ashes, refused to eat or drink and prayed fervently for his sons return to health. Of course, his son died – and everyone was afraid to tell David – afraid it would drive him insane. But David heard the whispering – asked if his son had died – and when it was confirmed, he asked for food and drink and cleaned himself up.
 
They were amazed at the transformation and asked him what had brought about his change of attitude – he told them that while his son still lived, there was the chance God would heal him, but when he died, it was God’s will – and there was nothing more to do but praise God for his mercy.
 
So, I woke up this morning to a country run by a man I have no faith in – but I live in a great country – still – and so I’ll put away the sackcloth and ashes, renew my efforts to protect the things in this life I hold dear…and work towards a 2014 reclamation of the Senate!! Then, on to 2016… all the while praising God that I was privileged enough to have been born an American.  Author Unknown
Tags: